Ripon Contest

Brass in Ripon Entertainment Contest

As part of the Ripon Festivals programme, Ripon City Band organises an annual brass band entertainment contest that takes place in Ripon Cathedral. The 2019 contest will take place on 1st June. The contest is open to bands in 3rd section, 4th section and those unregistered including youth bands.

Entry applications have now closed.

Each band must perform a march and hymn as part of their own choice, 20-minute entertainment programme. Please see contest rules here.

Starts @ 12 noon, Tickets are £5 per adult and £1 per child under 16 yrs and will be available on entry to the Cathedral on the day. For more information please contact Paulette Morton, Contest Secretary.

Prize monies are:

1st place - £250 and the Rose-bowl 
2nd place - £150 and trophy 
3rd place - £75 and trophy
£75 and a trophy will go to the best 4th section/unregistered band not in the first three places
Best Youth Section band not in the first three places
Best Hymn - £50 and a trophy
Most Entertaining band 
Best March
Best Soloist
Best Euphonium Player
Best Percussion section 


Music: John Roberts

Entertainment: Malcolm Dibb & Mark Sidwell

This year we are very much looking forward to hearing the following competing bands

2019 Bands

Band Conductor Grading Draw
Backworth Colliery Daniel Laverick 4 5
Bilsdale Silver Christine Britland un/reg 1
Ellington Colliery Clare Winter 3 4
Garforth Band John Thompson 4 6
Kippax Band Stephen Tighe 3 3
Leyburn Band Rebecca Lundberg un/reg 11
Lofthouse 2000 Andrew Whitaker 3 8
Shepherd Group Youth Craig Brown Youth 7
Skipton Brass Jack Smith un/reg 14
Spennymoor Town Fiona Casewell 4 10
Summerbridge and Dacre Charles Hindmarsh un/reg 2
Thurlstone Band John Hopkinson un/reg 9
Trimdon Brass Will Harrison 3 12
Uppermill Band Dean Redfern 3 13



Well done to all our competitors - Here are the full results for 2019

1. Uppermill - Best March, Best Percussion, Most Entertaining Programme

2. Leyburn - Best Hymn and Best Solo

3. Shepherd Group Youth

4. KIppax

5. Lofthouse 2000 - Best Euphonium

6. Spennymoor Town

7. Thurlstone

8. Bilsdale

9. Trimdon Concert

10. Backworth Colliery

11. Ellington Colliery

12. Skipton Brass

13. Summerbridge & Dacre Silver

14. Garforth Brass

Hope to see you all again next year


2018 results

1 Leyburn Band, Best Hymn, Best Percussion Section
2 Uppermill Band, Best March, Best Solo, Most Entertaining Programme
3 Trimdon Colliery
4 Shepherd Group Youth, Best Youth Section
5 Huddersfield & Ripponden
6 Thurlstone Band, Best 4th Section not in top 3
7 Skipton Brass, Best Euphonium 
8 Durham Constabulary
9 Ellington Colliery
10 Marske Band
11 Spennymoor Town
12 Bilsdale Silver

Contact us 

Richard Heath - Band Chairman

Linda Graham - Concert Secretary

Eleanor Stokes - Training Band Leader

Paulette Morton - Contest Secretary


Ripon Contest Trophy

2018 Ripon Contest Winners Leyburn Band

Ripon Band Crest